Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content

Texas State Board of
Podiatric Medical Examiners

Physical Address: 333 Guadalupe, Suite #2-320; Austin, Texas 78701
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 12216; Austin, Texas 78711
Phone: (512)-305-7000
Facsimile: (512)-305-7003

Board Information
Compact With Texans
Contact Us
Questions & Answers
License Verifications
License Renewals
Radiology Technicians
Open Records
Statute & Rules
Continuing Education
General Information
Statewide Search
Employment Opportunities



Though there is little recorded early history of the podiatrist (from Greek podos, "foot" and iatros, "doctor") in Texas, early doctors in the area doubtlessly treated feet. Before the modern specialty developed, foot practitioners were called chiropodists (from Greek chiros, "hand" + podos) because they treated both feet and hands. Abraham Lincoln had his own chiropodist.

Official recognition of podiatry as a profession occurred with the enactment of the first state regulation by New York in 1895. Nationally, there were only a few colleges teaching podiatric medicine, with none in Texas. On October 22, 1917, those who had set up practice in Texas had their earliest recorded meeting, in a room donated by the Dallas Chamber of Commerce. They called the group the Texas Chiropodist Society. The second annual meeting of the Texas Chiropodist Society was held at the Rice Hotel in Houston on October 7-8, 1918, when the prime concern of the members was to introduce a bill in the next legislative session to provide for a state law to regulate the practice of chiropody.

On March 5, 1919, the Texas legislature first considered laws to regulate the practice of chiropody. At that time, twenty states and the District of Columbia had enacted laws regulating the practice of chiropody. That bill was defeated in 1919, and again in 1921.

Two years later, in 1923, legislation adding podiatric medicine to the Texas Medical Act was passed as HB 487 of the 38th Legislature. Texas began licensing podiatric physicians (chiropodists) in 1923, with the creation of a regulatory board under the jurisdiction of the State Board of Medical Examiners. Legislation passed in 1939, established an independent board comprised of licensed physicians and chiropodists who would, in turn, license other chiropodists and regulate “podiatric medicine” in Texas. The new board was named the Texas State Board of Chiropody Examiners. Governor W. Lee (Pappy) O’Daniel appointed the first Board Members.

In 1950, an attorney general's ruling stated that a chiropodist was a physician within the meaning of the Narcotic Drug Law. The Chiropody Practice Act, amended in 1951, defined a chiropodist as "anyone who treats or offers to treat any disease, physical injury or deformity or ailment of the human foot by any system or method." In 1985, Senate Bill 655 broadened the definition of "Medical Staff" to include qualified podiatrists on hospital staffs.

In 1967, the name was changed to the Texas State Board of Podiatry Examiners, and in 1996, underwent an additional name change to its present form; the Texas State Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners.

Podiatrists perform full treatments of the human feet and ankles through such modalities including full prescriptive authority, performance of hyperbaric oxygen therapy and relative anesthesia in office, clinical, hospital and surgical settings. There are 9 nationally accredited Colleges of Podiatric Medicine in the United States who follow standardized models of education and training set forth by the American Podiatric Medical Association (APMA), the state component of which is the Texas Podiatric Medical Association (TPMA).

Operations of the Board are supported entirely annual fees collected by the Board from each licensee.

SOURCE: Texas Podiatric Medical Association; Texas State Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners; the Handbook of Texas Online, a joint project of The General Libraries at the University of Texas at Austin and the Texas State Historical Association.